A Year With my Best Friend

On December 27th, 2014, I entered into a relationship with an amazing man.  I was going through a lot during that time, and thought I needed someone in my life. I had tried online dating for awhile. I had met a few different people online, and they were all nice guys, but none of them were this person I thought I needed. Then, there were a few guys that I had met at school. One of them I believed had potential, but it just didn’t seem to work out.

Towards the end of November 2014, I decided to give online dating just one more go. I talked to a few guys, but again, no luck. I was so set on finding this specific person. A person that I believed probably didn’t exist.  I wanted Prince Charming, and I was no Cinderella. I got on POF (Plenty of Fish) to delete my account. However, a picture caught my eye. There was this handsome man, with beautiful eyes and a stunning smile. I sat there for ten minutes debating weather or not I should  even message him. He seemed to be way out of my league. Plus, he lived two hours away, and I didn’t think I was in any position to handle a long distance relationship. I convinced myself to message him. I mean, what was the worst that could happen? He could respond, but later say he wasn’t interested. He could not respond at all, but something inside me made me send that message and  I was glad I did.

He messaged me back, and we began to talk. We had so much in common, and he seemed to be everything I wanted in a man. Sadly, I began a period of self doubt. He seemed to be too good to be true, and I didn’t think I was good enough. However, for the next month or so, his text messages and phone calls kept a smile on my face. How did I know that he was who he said he was? I didn’t. For all I knew, he could have been some creepy perverted man.

We made plans for him to come and stay at my apartment for a night two days after Christmas. I know, it probably wasn’t the smartest idea. However, I knew in my gut that everything would be okay. In the early afternoon, a knock sounded at my door. My palms were sweaty and my heart was racing. I opened the door to that same gorgeous smile and those same beautiful eyes that were in the picture, and I breathed a sigh of relief. Instantly, I gave him a hug, and in that moment, it all felt right.

That was the beginning of the best time of my life. This man who I hardly knew became my love, my best friend and so much more.  He encouraged me to be the best I could be. He loved without judgement of the heaviness of my past. He wanted to ensure that my future was better.

Over the last year, I have had countless moments of laughter, smiles, and happiness. I have never felt so loved in my entire life. We’ve now been together for a year, and I couldn’t feel any better. I can’t wait to see what my future holds with this amazing man. I feel that I am the luckiest girl in the world.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

