What I wish I would have done?

As my time in college is coming to an end, I cannot help but think of the things I wish I would have done with my time. College is a time for exploring and finding out who you are. Well, to be honest, I am not the person I thought I’d be when all was said and done. This is not to say that there aren’t things about who I am now that I like. It is just that I would have liked to do a few things differently.

  • Be more involved in my later years of college: During my freshman year, I was involved in a large variety of activities on campus. I was in colorguard, worked for the Women’s Resource Center, joined a sorority, was in a service organization, and was very active in our campus’s Spanish speaking community. However, I became drowned in my depression and anxiety. I really let it get the best of me. I went early alum from my sorority( which ended up not existing after that semester), I quit working at the Women’s Resource Center, I moved off campus, and quit that service organization. I basically isolated myself from everything. I now think that if I had stayed involved on campus, maybe I would have been able to cope better with everything.  I have learned to cope with my depression, and now realize I do have a support system.
  • Go to class more: I had a few semesters where I hardly went to class, and obviously it greatly affected my GPA. If I had gone more, I would have received those attendance points, and I would have had a better understanding of the material. My sophomore year it was because I was depressed and many weekends,  I was hung over and didn’t do my homework, so I found it pointless to go to class. Junior year, it was just because of the depression. I never wanted to get out of bed or participate in anything. I’d like to go back and slap myself in the face for that. Luckily, now it’s better.
  • Went through fall rush instead of spring:  Although I loved the sisters I made in the sorority I joined, sometimes I feel that it may have not been the best fit for me. Yeah, I had friends in it, but overall, I just felt like an outsider. I am not saying that I regret joining the sorority. I don’t. It was a learning experience, and I have made some great friends. I just think that I didn’t explore my options, and I jumped the gun when I joined.
  • Be more Social:  Like I said before, I basically isolated myself from everything and everyone.  I rarely hung out with people, and when I did, I felt awkward and uncomfortable. Even when I went through my partying stage, I still felt like I was on the outside looking in. I wish I would have found a positive social environment in which I felt welcome.
  • Loved myself more: I really didn’t do much to take care of my body. I over ate. I stress ate. Basically, I ate a lot. I didn’t exercise enough, and I gained a lot of weight. I didn’t take care of my body because I didn’t love myself like I should have. Now, I am beginning to take better care of myself. I guess it’s better late than never.

I know everyone has regrets, and these are mine for my time at Truman. Maybe someone can learn from this, and make their college experience more enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

